Pretty Things

IMG_20150531_150235I love pretty things. Maybe my name has destined me to be a collector of all that is frilly and intricate. For whatever reason, I can’t get enough of tea sets and doilies and flowers and old books. If you should ever come to my house, you will see what I mean.

Tanner’s parents came to visit us this past weekend. They arrived the same day all our stuff did, and they helped us get unpacked and relatively organized. As we unpacked, I kept saying the same thing over and over again: “It’s so pretty.” I made this remark repeatedly about the items in my kitchen, the colors in my living room, and the clothes in my closet because the truth is that I forgot how nice my things are. After living almost two months with no belongings, I was so overwhelmed by getting it all back.

As I kept saying, probably to the annoyance of my sweet mother-in-law, the stuff that made it from my home in Texas to this little house in Maryland is just pretty. Of course, I don’t just sit and stare at it or rub it gently and whisper “my precious”. I view my pretty things in the same way I view the Potomac River or the Chesapeake Bay. I see them all as reminders that life can be full of beauty and that I shouldn’t take a single blessing for granted. Being surrounded by my amazing family and the pretty little trinkets that hold precious memories just solidified those beliefs for me this weekend.

After running around and showing our in-laws all of the best views and eateries in the county, it was back to work for Tanner and me. I began training for my new job this week, meaning that I spend about four hours a day writing short web-based articles and then receive feedback telling me what I need to improve on. It’s actually a lot of fun, and the fact that this is a home-based position has been appealing from the beginning. However, now that we have all of our stuff in the house, I’m realizing how important it will be to get my home office set up as soon as possible. I’m finding that the distractions of my living room, bedroom, and kitchen slow down my writing considerably. Once we get that office set up, it will be easier to separate work life from home life.

Tanner is still excited about his job as well. Every so often he’ll come home and tell me about some test flight he got to watch or some problem he witnessed a group of engineers solve. In his free time, he is still working on putting shiny new parts on Old Blue. And, while he has the wood shop set up in our garage (and there is still room for my car!), we still haven’t had a chance to make any furniture. Unfortunately for me, there are some other orders Tanner has to fulfill before he can start making the furniture our house still lacks–kitchen chairs, a guest bed, etc.

I ripped the baseboards of the walls last week to paint (and I ripped my leg open in the process), but we still have not gotten around to replacing them. Other than that, everything has really come together nicely, I think. The house is peaceful and cozy with soft lighting and neutral colors. Our couches and the pieces of furniture Tanner built for our apartment fit nicely into the color scheme, and I’ve had fun deciding how to arrange our eclectic mixture of antiques and modern decorative items for a sleek, simple look.

Everything is pretty much how it will stay. Although, I have a few more wall decorations to hang in the living room, and eventually we will do wood floors. Also, we need to finish the guestroom and the upstairs office. In the meantime, Tanner and I are enjoying ourselves and looking forward to having more visitors.

Yes, I love pretty things. And I hope I will always be able to see and appreciate the stuff that makes everyday life more beautiful. That  beauty may not always be found in a hundred-year-old book or in my great grandmother’s yellow doily, but I truly think it can be because right now it is.

Anyway, I’ve included some pictures below with a brief description of my favorite pieces in the room.

2015-06-04 11.08.46

This is the living/dining room. Hanging on the wall is an antique mirror from my great grandmother’s house. The coffee table is the first pieces of furniture Tanner and I designed together, and the kitchen table is the first he built before starting his Etsy shop.

2015-06-04 11.10.41

In this photo, you can just barely make out the copper rose that Tanner made me for Christmas when we were engaged.

20150604_122644

These are the three oldest books I own. The one on top is my all-time favorite, An Old Fashioned Girl by Louisa May Alcott.

2015-06-04 11.14.38

This side table was made from a tree stump Tanner and I picked up off the side of the road in Austin. He stained the top blue and put hair-pin legs on it. ❤

2015-06-04 11.09.28

2015-06-04 11.10.02

2015-06-04 11.16.45

The pine cone in this picture is from the beach in Maryland. We picked it up during our house-hunting trip. You can also see our family Bible that we used as a guestbook at our wedding.

2015-06-04 11.11.15 (1)

Sorry for posting a picture of the bathroom, but above the toilet is a beaded chandelier that I made. I thought it was a clever addition.

One thought on “Pretty Things

  1. The visit was wonderful. I love that you and Tanner always have places picked out that you know we will enjoy. Your new home is cozy and adorable…and yes, full of pretty things. I’m so glad that we got be a part of your settling into your home-away-from-home. Love you both!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

