Adventure Calls

We’re doing it. We’re taking a trip to Ireland next May, at which time we will proceed to bike across the country. Yes, it’s a crazy notion. Luckily we’ve convinced two equally insane friends (no offense Caleb and Kylee) to join us.

It’s always been on my mind to go see Ireland. I’m not sure why because I don’t think I am at all Irish. However, I love the folklore and the greenery and the number of old castles you can find there—it’s basically straight out of a fantasy story.

Not all of the trip details are worked out yet, but we are currently compiling a list of places to go and things to see. (If you have suggestions, then please share them!) Because we will be biking for the majority of the trip, we plan on doing some camping as well as staying in the occasional bed-and-breakfast/renovated castle.

Needless to say, I’m thrilled.

Granted, this trip will cost us some savings, and it means waiting at least another year before considering the possibility of having a baby. Sorry, mom. But adventure is calling and life is short and we have our whole lives to make money and babies (or at least several more years for that last part).

I never got a Europe trip in high school or college or after college. I know you’re probably thinking, You poor, middle-class, white girl stuck in America. And you’re right; I have nothing to complain about. Still, I’ve always wanted to go and have never had the money for it. But perhaps that was not such a bad thing. In fact, I think what I love most about Tanner’s and my upcoming expedition is that we’ve worked and are continuing to work for it.

Okay, we’ve only been out of college and in big-kid jobs for a couple of years, but saving money and not adopting an adorable puppy or deciding to have a baby is really hard. Those are very big and very valid desires that are just barely outweighed by this utter need to travel in a somewhat unconventional manner.

Maybe we’re crazy, maybe we’re brave, or maybe we’re just like any other couple trying to live out their dreams.

In any case, we’re going to bike across Ireland, the Emerald Isle, home of the leprechauns. And that means training to bike across an entire country. So, it will be padded shorts and ice baths for the next several months as I try to convince my body that bicycles are not the devil.

Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “Adventure Calls

      1. It’s ok outside the city but u really need to check out site facilities, they vary a lot! But I am also joking a little, recently wrote a post about camping in IRL so had to smile a little that’s all, enjoy ur stay! It’s a great country to visit

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

